Just Walk Beside Me and Be My Friend


Have you ever stopped for a moment what you are doing and looked around you and realized that perhaps you have it all? We as human beings are so ambitious, so greedy for wealth, emotion, power, that most of the time we don’t realize that we are lucky to be alive. We want more. We want a big house. We have a car, we want a better one. We want to dress well, go on vacations. We see people more successful and richer and we think why can’t we have it too? There is nothing wrong with that except we are so busy working, going after our dreams that we miss the other things, the simple things that gave us so much joy at one time in our lives.

We live in a competitive world more now than any other times. The world of our parents was different than our world and that of our children will be different than ours. If you stop for a moment and think, we have more than what our parents had, our generation has achieved more than theirs in terms of science, technology, medicine to name a few and yet, we have more broken marriages and relationships. It’s true we sit at home and communicate with more people in one day or even in one hour through social networks. We have friends from all over the world, friends whose voices we haven’t heard, whose faces we haven’t seen, only the picture they want to show us. We have created a world for ourselves based on deception, even on Facebook. I came across a post on my FB wall that said, I have reached the 5000 friend limit, if you want to add me sorry. Really? May I ask how many of the 5000 friends will be by your side in times of need? A friend is someone who stands by you, and I quote Albert Camus:

“Don’t walk behind me; I may not lead. Don’t walk in front of me; I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend.”

ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just Walk Beside Me and Be My Friend

  1. Verkin says:

    You are right it is a blessing to find a real friend.
    It might take a lifetime!

Leave a Reply

