Imagine


Are you a dreamer? Do you dream about your future? Do you wonder about your past? If you have the chance to live your life again how would you like it to be different?

Well I do. I am a dreamer. Although I look back more often than I want to. I remember back in university when during a mathematics class students complained to the professor that it was so boring to solve mathematical problems for hours on end. His reply was, “This will help you solve your problems later in life.”

How could it when the problems we face in life are so different, are so not precise, systematic or methodical? How could it when:

“The significant problems we face today cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them.” Albert Einstein

Personally I think that if I were a young person again trying to establish myself in this world I would do so simply by reading. I would definitely study literature, anything to do with creativity and imagination. Because literature has this life giving power that is so significant and so unique. In the words of Sir Walter Scott:

“A lawyer without history or literature is a mechanic, a mere working mason; if he possesses some knowledge of these, he may venture to call himself an architect.” 

Better still, imagine that instead of going to university you choose to go to the library every single day, on average eight to ten hours a day, for six days a week. And read for the time it takes you to get a degree. You only read. You read literary books. Study French literature, or Russian, or English literature, or writings from the Middle East and other parts of the world. In all their beauty of form, or emotional effect, or quality of prose. Writings of such artistic value. Excellent works of great writers, of different cultures. You know how enriched your soul and mind will be after such an experience? Just you and the written words.

When I read I am totally absorbed in the story. There’s no barrier between me and the characters in the book. I become privy to their thoughts, their happiness and heartaches. The emotional impact the story has on me is so real that my heart will simply throb as I keep turning the pages.

Imagine to experience this every day of your life. To live in such a rich world, to simply forget yourself and let your mind wander.

“And this I believe: that the free, exploring mind of the individual human is the most valuable thing in the world. And this I would fight for: the freedom of the mind to take any direction it wishes, undirected. And this I must fight against: any idea, religion, or government which limits or destroys the individual. This is what I am and what I am about.” John Steinbeck

ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Imagine

Leave a Reply

