We All Need A Fairy


Are you in any way like me? Do you check your blog often after posting to see if any other blogger has liked your post? Do you get excited when you read a comment, because you know that someone has really taken the time to read your post and shared his or her personal thoughts with you?

I personally love that part of blogging. Once I post an article I can’t wait to get back to my blog and check my page and my statistics. Without others’ encouragement it is hard to go on sometimes. Many are the times when I despair and it becomes so difficult to continue. I plan to quit. I do so for a day or two but then the love of writing gets the better of me and I write and write.

I remember when my kids were small and they had so called CAT exams in school at the end of each term. They were too young to understand the meaning as well as the importance of those exams. I tried to explain it to them but after a while I decided that the best way to go about it is by rewarding them. They had been visited by the tooth fairy before so why not be visited by the exam fairy during exam weeks? So every time they finished an exam and did well, the exam fairy would visit them. She brought them colored pencils, pens, pads, diaries, and sometimes even cash. The ‘exam fairy’ became our ‘thing’ until they were a little older. Maybe some educationists will disagree with my method but hey, it worked.

We all need to be rewarded. We all need to be appreciated somehow. No matter how rationally we seem to look at things we are nothing but human. And as such we have feelings and emotions that sometimes need to be nurtured. And as Albert Schweitzer writes:

“Sometimes our light goes out but is blown into flame by another human being. Each of us owes deepest thanks to those who have rekindled this light.”

Once again I would like to repost a true story by Dale Carnegie:

Half a century ago, another boy in London was working as a clerk in a dry-goods store. He had to get up at five o’clock, sweep out the store, and slave for fourteen hours a day. It was sheer drudgery and he despised it. After two years, he could stand it no longer, so he got up one morning and, without waiting for breakfast, tramped fifteen miles to talk to his mother, who was working as a housekeeper.
He was frantic. He pleaded with her. He wept. He swore he would kill himself if he had to remain in the shop any longer. Then he wrote a long, pathetic letter to his old school master, declaring that he was heartbroken, that he no longer wanted to live. His old schoolmaster gave him a little praise and assured him that he really was very intelligent and fitted for finer things and offered him a job as a teacher.
The praise changed the future of that boy and made a lasting impression on the history of English literature. For that boy has since written seventy-seven books and made over a million dollars with his pen. You’ve probably heard of him. His name is H.G. Wells.

ChK
 

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to We All Need A Fairy

  1. maddy says:

    I do. I do. I absolutely do it all the time. Going back n forth to see if anyone has found my post interesting n always so eager to find out what they think of it. :)

    • chichikir says:

      Hehe! That’s me! Eager to find out what everyone thinks. Because as soon as i post an article I can’t help but think what if no one likes it, what if they all find it boring etc. until i get the first like then I relax a bit and think about my next blog. Happy writing and blogging :)

  2. liamodell1 says:

    I’m like that too! Always checking and refreshing to see if the views have come up or if anyone has commented!

  3. Receiving validation is a basic human need. We all enjoy connecting and as writers maybe even more as our solitary endeavor makes us needing human contact, even if it is via social media. We can grow our community with support & encouragement of each other. Happy writing and connecting.

    • chichikir says:

      The good thing about reading comments is that they are from other writers with the same interests and the same love and respect to writing! That’s a blessing!

  4. Your writing is so supremely on target. I do check after posting. I also check posts that inspire me, and you are very highly ranked as many of your posts could have been typed by my own hand! I may not always get to write a note of support, but rest assured when I press “like” it is as if the “writing fairy” has left you a new pen!

  5. Gyro says:

    I remember that after about 3 months from my first post noone seemed to read anything in there. I decided to stop writting, but eventually i keep on blogging and i am happy with it (http://larissa-town.blogspot.com and its twin http://blogcommonsense.wordpress.com, both in greek).
    Nice post of yours….

  6. I love it when I get comments that share more details about something I’ve said or provided information that I didn’t know. It’s the most fun part about blogging — reading all of these different perspectives.

    • chichikir says:

      Sharing your thoughts with other writers and reading their perspectives makes blogging more fun and lively as you mentioned! Happy blogging and writing :)

  7. Those “likes” are wonderful little rewards to let you know someone hears your voice. Thanks for sharing your insights.

  8. “Sometimes our light goes out but is blown into flame by another human being. Each of us owes deepest thanks to those who have rekindled this light.” I love this quote. It is always nice to know that our words are appreciated by those who read them. :)

  9. klyse3 says:

    same here. I just want to know someone enjoyed my post as much I enjoyed writing it. :)

Leave a Reply

