Books, Books, and Books


There’s an old saying: “Everyone has a story to tell.”

We have all been fond of stories at some point in our lives. For some of us that love has turned into passion so much so that there’s nothing in the world that gives us joy other than reading a good book. Not all books are likeable, let alone readable. Not all books are created equal.

As I have mentioned in one of my earlier blog posts, in every book there’s at least one thing that the author did well. No matter how bad a book is, there is always something in it that the writer is good at. The genius is the one who gets every aspect of the novel or the story right. Those are the books that not only have a great story but can also teach us hopeful beginning writers the art of writing. Books that I personally never tire of reading over and over. Here’s a list of those books.

1. The Old Man and the Sea, by Ernest Hemingway
2. The Sun Also Rises, by Ernest Hemingway
3. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, by Mark Twain
4. Anna Karenina, by Leo Tolstoy
5. The Great Gatsby, by F. Scott Fitzgerald
6. War and Peace, by Leo Tolstoy
7. The Brothers Karamazov, by Theodore Dostoyevsky
8. The Sound and the Fury, by William Faulkner
9. East of Eden, by John Steinbeck
10. To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee
11. Madame Bovary, by Gustav Flaubert
12. The Catcher in the Rye, by J.D. Salinger
13. Middlemarch, by George Eliot
14. One Hundred Years of Solitude, by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
15. The Bluest Eye, by Toni Morrison
16. Roots, by Alex Hailey
17. The Color Purple, by Alice Walker
18. Fahrenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury
19. Animal Farm, by George Orwell
20. Night, by Elie Wiesel
21. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, by Maya Angelou
22. Mother, by Maxim Gorky
23. The Joke, by Milan Kundera
24. Midaq Alley, by Naguib Mahfooz
25. One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich, by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn
26. Thus Spoke Zarathustra, by Friedrich Nietzsche
27. The Prophet, by Gibran Khalil Gibran
28. The Outsider, by Albert Camus
29. The Words, by Jean Paul Sartre
30. Autobiographical Works of Simone de Beauvoir

I left many, many out. Some I forgot, others I am not aware of. Any suggestions, any names to add to the list?

ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Books, Books, and Books

  1. Good post. Can I throw in ‘Jonathan Livingstone Seagull’ and ‘Catch 22′?

  2. seesugar says:

    Love the list, I haven’t read all of them, but I would say 80%. I’m inspired to read the rest of them.
    I would add: ‘A Tree Grows in Brooklyn’; ‘Little Women’; and ‘Gone With the Wind’

  3. klyse3 says:

    Great books! I especially like Tolstoy and Fahrenheit 451. I would probably add The Scarlet Pimpernel.

  4. Your list looks like one that you’d find in an English teacher’s classroom. While I am ashamed to say that I’ve read only a handful on that list, let me say that I admire you for reading so many classics – and more than once! May they inspire you to write like The Masters! :)

    • chichikir says:

      Thanks! I find that I can always learn from the classics. But sad to say I could never write like the masters! However, I will try to write the best I can. Happy reading and writing to you too!

Leave a Reply

