Until I Learn To Let Go


Ever since I was a little girl I hated goodbyes. If I happened to be at a place like the airport, and observed a random someone walk away leaving loved ones crying behind I would break down and cry myself. Departures not only saddened me but hurt as well to such an extent that for days I wouldn’t be able to sleep properly without crying myself to sleep. The simple thought of not being able to see someone you love anymore hurt.

So now that I put my husband to rest, I can’t seem to come to terms with the idea that this is the final deal. That not only won’t I see him again but that I won’t ever hear his voice, and that creeps me out. No matter how hard I try to come to terms with the loss, the harder it becomes to let go. In the words of the late Ray Bradbury:

“Learning to let go should be learned before learning to get. Life should be touched, not strangled. You’ve got to relax, let it happen at times, and at other times move forward with it.”

How can I move forward when part of me, the better part of me, is crippled? I know I am not the only one, and I won’t even be the last one, but it is still hard to move forward. At least for the time being. I know in my heart of hearts that I should move ahead and go on living. It’s just that the first steps forward are the hardest to take. And yet I have to somehow take a step. As Ray Bradbury wrote:

“Every time you take a step, even when you don’t want to, when it hurts, when it means you rub chins with death, or even if it means dying, that’s good. Anything that moves ahead wins. No chess game was ever won by the player who sat for a lifetime thinking over his next move.”

I remember decades ago, not long after we first started dating, when you my darling held an exhibition on Makhoul street in Beirut. Two of your paintings were of jackets. One, a jacket hanging from a nail on a wall, and the other a jacket left on an armchair. Then you started explaining to me the significance of the jacket in your life.

At the time the civil war was in its fourth year and the whole country was ravaged by it. There were lots of kidnappings and killings and explosions everywhere in the city, making it almost impossible to survive. So no one knew if after leaving the house they would ever come back alive. Hence the ‘jacket’ for you meant a husband or a father going out to work but never making it back.

Departure

Then afterwards, after we were married, you painted more jackets, in different settings. Did it ever cross your mind that one day it would happen to you? That you would walk out the door and never walk back? The day after we (the kids and I) came home from the hospital carrying your jacket with us, I hung it on the nail behind the door. Just like in your first painting. Ironically enough your jacket was green, just like the one in your first painting.

It’s true that life gives us what we want but then takes it away when we least expect it to. Our love, our happiness, our youth, our friends. One day we have it all and the next we have nothing, we have lost all. We only have to learn to let go, as Ray Bradbury wrote:

“Darkness gets it all in the end. It’s (life) lent to us for a while. Use it, let go without crying.”

And until I learn to let go…

ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Until I Learn To Let Go

  1. Sara Migally says:

    I do believe that you win when you move on. But you lose if you move on too quickly. Actually, stillness can be more essential than moving on right now. If you think about it, the best meditations are achieved in stillness. The peace of mind and heart can come when we take a moment to breathe. Even to feel God’s presence you need to be still: “Be Still and Know that I Am God.” Psalm 46:10. It’s stillness with the intention of moving forward, and not stillness with no hope. There is a time to wait, and a time to move.

    And remember, you never need to let go of him – he was God’s gift in his essence, in the memories, in the lessons you learnt from him. The body may go, but the soul and spirit stay on. You will let go of the pain. It comes with faith and time, and an inner strength that I know you have.

  2. Very touching. Beautifully written.

  3. Zvart Babikian says:

    Excellent writing. I always read your writings several times. You are so transparent and real person.

  4. In your last post you wrote something about how your husband told you if he didn’t make it out of one of his surgeries it would cause you grief and that hurt him. I’m sure he would be saddened by the effect his passing has had on you. While he is no longer with you in physical form, memories of him keep his spirit close to you. Draw on the strength of those memories to help you in the coming days. :)

Leave a Reply

