Tomorrow Is Easter Sunday


Tomorrow is Easter Sunday. Our first Easter without you. The kids tell me, “We can’t have Easter without dad. It’s not the same anymore. There’s no point.”

Looking back to when we were in Dubai, the kids and I were always alone on Easter Sunday. See in Dubai, the week started on a Saturday or a Sunday depending on your employer. For us, me and the kids, the school week started on Saturday and ended on Wednesday. Our weekend was on Thursday and Friday. While my husband started his week on Sunday and finished on Thursday. Friday was his first day of the weekend. So as a family we had only Friday together.

I remember when I first started teaching, we never had Easter Sunday off. It was only during the later years that we didn’t have school on Easter Sunday. So for the twenty two years that we lived and worked in Dubai we never had Easter Sunday together. What I would do was take the kids out for lunch somewhere and on the way home buy some chocolate eggs for them. Saturday evenings we would celebrate Easter with a family dinner and with our Easter customs and traditions.

I remember our last Easter in Dubai in 2006. We had hardly sat down to dinner when his cell phone rang. They had an emergency at the office. There had been some kind of an accident offshore and, being a member of the emergency team, he was called back on duty. The kids were upset and angry of course and so was I, to be honest. I felt sorry for him for he didn’t get to spend time with the kids, he didn’t get to enjoy them much when they were younger. He was so busy working. And that night we celebrated Easter without him, since by the time he came back it was way past midnight.

Dr. Seuss wrote:

“Sometimes you will never know the value of something, until it becomes a memory.” 

Memories are all we have now from our days together. Sometimes I wonder if it was worth all the trouble, all his hard work to secure a better future for the kids. Sometimes I wonder, in what way is a future without him in their life better? And in the words of Dr. Seuss:

“To the world you may be one person; but to one person you may be the world.” 

He meant the world to them, to us. I know now that miracles are things that do not happen, not to ordinary people like us anyway. One thing I believe in strongly is that he is in heaven watching over us. For he cannot be anywhere else, he was our superhero. I know Easter is about resurrection as well as I know that he is looking down at us at this moment saying:

“Remember me and smile, for it’s better to forget than to remember me and cry.” Dr. Seuss

Happy Easter to all who celebrate!

Bunny

ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tomorrow Is Easter Sunday

  1. Pingback: Easter Weekend | life of a female bible warrior

  2. words4jp says:

    This is very beautiful – the Dr. Seuss quotes are priceless.

Leave a Reply

