Shall I Publish On LinkedIn?


A week ago, on the 16th of June to be exact, I got an email saying, “Congrats Choghig! You’re invited to publish on LinkedIn.”

I was thrilled! I started my blog on WordPress in January 2011. Since then I have been writing and posting articles regularly. I am happy to say that I have been able to form myself a fan base too. I might not be the most talented writer but I know I have so much love and passion for it to keep me writing no matter what. My hard work paid off. 

In 2012 I received the following email from an editor at WordPress:
“Congrats! We’ve picked your post:  What Is There In Writing Except Language to appear on Freshly Pressed on the WordPress home page.
We really enjoyed it, and we know the rest of the WordPress community will too. Your post will appear on the site in the next day or two, so get ready to welcome your new readers.
Once your post goes live, shout it from the rooftops! Tell your family, friends, and readers to check out the WordPress home page, and share the good news with your social networks (we’ll do the same). 
Most importantly, keep up the great work. Thanks for making the internet a more interesting place!”

bloggers-1

Now, almost two years after that, to gain a new platform with the ability to publish on LinkedIn, I was ecstatic and couldn’t wait to try it out. 

However, after publishing my second post I realized there was a problem with it. I could see that there were 30 comments on the post but I couldn’t read any. So I did what most people would do, I found the link to their help center and opened a ticket. And here’s part of the conversation with a LinkedIn Customer Experience Advocate: 

Member (this would be me) (06/19/2014 18:48 CST)
There seems to be something wrong with my second post called ‘We Have Failed’ as on the post itself, it shows 74 views (and counting), 0 likes and 0 comments. However, when I click on “See all” my posts, I see 74 views, 7 likes and 30 comments (which I can’t find or get to).
When I click on like myself, I see a red bar with Error at the top of my page and the number of likes remain 0. Attached please find the three screenshots displaying these issues.

LinkedIn Response (06/20/2014 05:13 CST)
Thanks for the information and I’m sorry you’re still having problems. Were you able to switch to a different browser? For example, if you were having problems when using the Internet Explorer, did you try it again with a Firefox, Chrome or Safari browser? Here’s a current list of supported Internet browsers:If you’re still having problems, please send me a screenshot of the issue as it occurs when you use the different browser.
 

Member (06/20/2014 06:50 CST)
I had included the screenshots in the LinkedIn.pdf file attached to the ticket, but I can send it again if you like. It occurs on Firefox, IE, and Chrome, and looks exactly like the pictures in all three cases. It even looks the same on the LinkedIn mobile app for iPhones. There are the three problems I mentioned on all these platforms. You could probably see for yourself if you tried to like or comment on my latest post.

LinkedIn Response (06/23/2014 01:28 CST)
I’m sorry for the inconvenience, but it seems like the problem has now been fixed. If you have further questions, please feel free to reply to this message.

Member (06/23/2014 05:03 CST)
EXCUSE ME? How can you tell me the problem has been fixed when it CLEARLY has not? All three problems are still open, I am STILL waiting from someone from LinkedIn to help because this is CLEARLY a technical problem, and you tell me it is fixed? If you cannot fix it, I would really appreciate if you can transfer my ticket to somebody else who will be able to fix this for me because it is very frustrating that a professional network such as LinkedIn cannot deal with technical problems professionally. 
Let me try this once again, there is something wrong with my second post called ‘We Have Failed’ as on the post itself, it shows 128 views (and counting), 0 likes and 0 comments. However, when I click on “See all” my posts, I see 0 views, 7 likes and 30 comments (which I can’t find or get to).
When I click on like myself, I see a red bar with Error at the top of my page and the number of likes remain 0. I cannot even leave a comment on my post. The LinkedIn.pdf attached to this ticket TWICE now shows all three screenshots displaying these issues.
WILL YOU BE ABLE TO HELP ME OR SHOULD I MOVE TO ANOTHER PUBLISHING PLATFORM INSTEAD OF USING LINKEDIN TO PUBLISH POSTS?

LinkedIn Response (06/23/2014 05:18 CST)
I wish I had an immediate resolution for you. This particular issue will need to be escalated to our internal research team. I understand this may be frustrating but as soon as I get an update, I’ll let you know. Thanks for your patience in this matter.

Member (06/23/2014 05:50)
Thank you! Please do escalate the issue to your internal research team! I hope it gets solved soon!

—After all this I am not so sure about continuing to use LinkedIn to publish posts. It definitely was not handled professionally on their side. WordPress hasn’t let me down so far! Was I wrong to expect my problem to be solved by their experts? Have you had similar experiences?  Please comment!

ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shall I Publish On LinkedIn?

  1. Pingback: Sorry You Don’t Understand! | ChichiKir

Leave a Reply

