Once in a Lifetime


Did you ever wake up one day and say to yourself, today is a beautiful day and it is going to stay like that no matter what? Three mornings ago I got out of bed saying what a beautiful day it is, even though it was snowing outside and the temperature was in the double digits below zero. And I made this solemn promise to myself that no matter what happened during the day, I will not let anything pull me down, or change my mood from now on. Lately I have had my share of bad days, years in fact, and I am hoping and praying that I am nearing the end of my troubles. I don’t ask for much from life. If I have my health, my family around me and a job, a steady income to be able to afford the little things my heart desires, I am a happy person. Out of the above mentioned I score only one over three. I have my family around me thank God, my health is not that perfect and I don’t have a job. In fact the day before that morning I had received some discouraging news. As I walked with my husband towards the car not knowing what to do or how to feel, whether to cry or scream or to be angry but at who or for what, I looked at my husband and thought haven’t we already been through so much? We’ve survived the civil war and much more. But then it dawned on me that maybe this was a blessing, a sign from God. Maybe the time has come for me to do the thing that I love to do most, write. Perhaps this was my once in a lifetime opportunity. True I would have liked things to be different but they aren’t. Still it’s not the end of the world for me, not yet anyways, and for that alone I am ever so grateful. I am given another chance, if that is not a blessing then what is?

As I write this I can’t help but think of all those thousands of people in Japan who lost their lives during the earthquake, the tsunami. All those who are alive but lost their loved ones, their homes and everything. I can’t help but think that the survivors also were given another chance, their once in a lifetime moment. My thoughts and prayers with the people and condolences for those who died .

ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

