Dearest Daughter


Today is Mother’s Day and I know it is all about me as I know you that you have plans to make it a special day. But on this day allow me to express my feelings on what makes this day a special day for me too. It is not the breakfast or the flowers or the gifts you’ll bring me that will make it so special. Every day is a special day for me as long as I have you in my life.

It seems only yesterday that I was in the delivery room and I held you in my arms for the first time. You looked at me with those beautiful, lively, innocent hazel eyes of yours for the first time and I knew at that moment that the world was not the same for me anymore. Later in our room when I watched my mom, your grandma, hold you in her arms I got teary eyed. Here we were, three generations of women, bound by a bond stronger than any bond and destined to be together for an entire lifetime. There was so much joy and love in that small hospital room that Friday afternoon. And it was all because of you.

My dearest, I know that we do not see eye to eye sometimes, I know that I don’t know as much as you do, even though I have lived longer and tasted all that life has thrown at me- the good, the bad, and the ugly. I also know how innocent, and naïve you are at this point in your life. You have ideals you believe in. You have causes that you are ready to sacrifice your life for. You want to go out there and conquer the world. Choose a career for yourself, build your own life the way I did before you. All is so well and good, and I pray that life is not so cruel to you and when you make it, when you get there, I hope and wish to be present with you somehow.

Throughout my years life has taught me so many lessons that I can truly say I’ve lost count. But the most significant of them all is the fact that it doesn’t matter how much you work or make or what you conquer. After all is said and done it is the people you come to at home at the end of the day, every day, that matters the most. Your family, your loved ones. The people who stick with you when you fail or succeed, when you’re happy or sad, when you’re angry or mad, when you’re healthy or sick, when you‘re poor or rich. They stick with you no matter what and they are the only ones worthy of you and they deserve your love and respect the same way you are worthy of them and deserve their love and respect.

My parents didn’t have much to give but they gave me the best gift a child could ever want, unconditional love and support. In my turn, together with your father we tried to do the same. We tried to give you the best we could, even though in your eyes it might not be much. I might have failed in making my dreams come true, I have failed financially but if I have to do it again I wouldn’t change a thing and all because of you. You and your brother are such wonderful and amazing people and I am the luckiest person in the world to be your mother. And it is the moments I spend with you that I cherish the most. No matter how hard I work and how tired I am at the end of the day, when you come home and I hug you and you smile and look at me with those lively, beautiful hazel eyes of yours, which by the way haven’t changed, and you say “mommy” in that special way of yours I know that there’s nothing in the world I would trade that moment with. I wish and pray that you will one day find the love of your life and build your own nest and be happy.

May God bless you and your brother for making every day special for me.

ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dearest Daughter

  1. thinspaces says:

    Awesome post. Truly heartfelt and I relate on so many levels. You inspired me to write my own post to my children. They don’t read my blog, so I sent it to them as facebook messages. 🙂
    I hope you don’t mind, but I did borrow a little of what you said (because of how well you said it) in my own message.

    On another note, I read your posts all the time – you inspire me daily to keep trying. Thank you!!

    • chichikir says:

      Thank you. My son not only doesn’t read my blogs but asks me to stop blogging. I think I have to come up with something for him. Will figure it out. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

