An Old Rule


Do you ever wonder that if one day you are given the chance to live your life over again you would live it differently? You would make different choices. I do. I go back to those times in my life and think about the mistakes I made (which at the time seemed rather the right choices) and wish that there was a way to undo them, at least some of them. But most of all I wish I knew then what I know now, about people, about their intentions, about their motives, about relationships.

Unfortunately we can’t undo past mistakes, we can’t even guarantee that the choices we make this time around will be the right ones since there’s one thing we cannot control, and that is the consequences that come as a result.

As the saying goes: “When we pick up one end of the stick, we pick up the other.”

There’s no doubt in my mind that there have been times in each of our lives when we have picked up what we later felt and thought was the wrong stick. And hence we bore the consequences that followed, something we would have rather lived without. These choices were our mistakes.

But it happens that sometimes pride or shame or peer pressure keeps us from acknowledging and admitting our mistakes. And hence in order to justify it, we try to cover it up by blaming others, or by denying that we have committed an error.

Why? Because we are not good at accepting criticism. It is hard to control our emotions when being criticized. And hence in order to cover up our mistake we commit an even bigger one. In the words of Chuck Norris:

“Learn from your mistakes is an old rule, but it is surprising how many people fail to heed it. …If you can’t see the lesson in what went wrong, you’re just condemning yourself to make the same mistake again.”

ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to An Old Rule

  1. Pingback: Admitting Your Mistakes | Deep Thinkings

  2. So true! While it would be ideal to live with no regrets, there are always moments in our past where we wonder, what would have happened if I had done things differently? Would life be better or worse? While some of our actions, in hind sight, may seem ‘wrong’, who’s to say that a different choice would have made things any better?

    • chichikir says:

      I always think if there was something else I could have done, or made a different choice. But then what guarantees are there for getting the desired consequences?

  3. Samir says:

    Um, I’m kinda wondering what your mistakes were?!

    Myself, I’d probably not have spent years studying Mathematics and Physics thinking I’d do something with them… I’d rather have opted for English and Literature since I am doing something with them.

Leave a Reply

