Writers May Suffer From Duck’s Disease


Toni Morrison wrote:
“If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” 

Do you agree with me that we are writers because at some point in our lives we read books and fell in love with the written word? Most of us were readers first before we became writers. We all write for one reason or another. We write for pleasure, we write for money, we write because we cannot do anything else, we write because that’s the thing we love to do most. Or maybe we ran out of books we liked to read and therefore took to writing them as Toni Morrison advised us to.

Whatever the origins of your writing career, you probably write first of all to please yourself, at least I do. When we first moved to Canada and I was contemplating to teach or do something else, one of my friends suggested that I write Harlequin novels. I got so excited. I liked the idea of becoming a full time writer as opposed to writing occasionally, only when I had the time. I have read a few Harlequins, and I thought it would be an easy thing to do. I sat at my desk thinking that within a few months I would be able to produce a book. What I didn’t know was that writing ‘for a market’ which I wasn’t fond of reading would bring me pain and disappointment and despair. After a couple of tries I quit and totally abandoned the idea of becoming a Harlequin writer.

One of the many pieces of advice that my creative writing instructor had given me years ago was to always remember that my readers were somewhat smarter than me, even though they read what I liked to read.

The creative process is so mysterious, so unknown and so distinct to each writer. What works for other writers might not work for me or you. Even at different stages in their development and career writers have different problems to solve, and the way they tackle these problems is unique and exclusive to them also. My writing instructor used to say that almost all writers as they progress in their career suffer from Duck’s Disease. Here’s how he told the story:

A film director once told a writer that despite having a quality script in his hand, he didn’t have a film. He was unable though to point to any gap in the writing. The script was complete but he (the director) didn’t think people would want to go see it. “It just doesn’t taste right in the mouth. I want something more but I can’t tell you what it is.”
“A duck,” said another director challenged to explain what was lacking in an apparently fully motivated script, “is an animal with serious height shortfall. Its ass is too close to the ground. Everyone knows it except the duck. Nobody knows why it is so. No one can do anything about it except the duck, who can walk on tiptoe or get elevator webs.”

ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Writers May Suffer From Duck’s Disease

  1. Nice one. So that’s it? A duck! Simple when you know. Onward and upward – no limits now, apart from the pond. . . Wonder what’s on the other side?

  2. Maral Kazazian says:

    I totally agree with you. You have to have a passion for it and like what you are doing, in order to produce a good product. I don’t like Harlequin novels either.

  3. Firstly, hello and to let you know I too immigrated to Canada! What are the chances of connecting with each other? I came from southern England to Edmonton, Alberta. Now for the ‘duck’ – I agree if you don’t have a passion for what you are writing it will lack that certain something…we can’t fool our readers they can read between the lines! Having said that not one of my novels, novella or short stories has a particular genre, I simply write what the little voices tell me.
    Enjoy your Sunday.

    • chichikir says:

      Thanks Mandy! And thanks for connecting. I wish we can meet one day though 😦 It is hard for me to write about something that I am not fully convinced of myself. Follow that little voice of yours as it will lead you to great success! Happy writing

  4. liamodell1 says:

    Congratulations! I’ve nominated you for a blog award! See:

    thelifeofathinker.wordpress.com

    For more info!

  5. Truer words were never written. It’s hard to write what you don’t like reading. I, too, tried the Harlequin route but was told there was too much story and not enough romance! Now, I stick to ‘stories’ with a little romance thrown in for good measure! lol

Leave a Reply

