Hope Is A Waking Dream


The year 2012 ended in darkness for me, and all I wish for in the New Year 2013 is some faith, hope, and why not a little bit of happiness, if that is not too much to ask or to wish for.

Hope- expectation, optimism, anticipation, faith.

Or in the words of Emily Dickinson:

“Hope is the thing with feathers 
That perches in the soul 
And sings the tune without the words 
And never stops at all.” 

Strange how hope changes us as people. It changes what we do and how we look at things, at people and the world around us. Even though we all know that once something passes it is gone for good, like yesterdays and yesteryears. We don’t know what tomorrow holds for us, all we are left with is today, and yet we still work for and dream about tomorrow. We work in anticipation of a better tomorrow. We constantly strive for a better future and in the process we let our today pass sometimes even without noticing. Our present is nothing but a quest for tomorrow. We go to bed dreaming about the day after. We hope against hope that when we wake up the next day we will have a better day than the one we had, than the one that passed. In the words of Aristotle:

“Hope is a waking dream.” 

We believe that something is going to change for us, for better or for worse we can’t tell, as long as it changes. None of us knows what might happen next and yet we still go forward.

Traveler

Because we hope, because we trust, and because we have faith.
“Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” (Heb: 11:1)

Faith- confidence, trust, reliance, assurance, conviction, belief, loyalty, dedication.

I have never seen any stronger example of faith and hope than when I accompanied my husband to the oncology (cancer) ward for his chemos. All those faces young and old sitting on their chairs taking in their medication day after day, time after time. Dedicated, believing and hoping. I admired their courage, their optimism. Even though for some this hope only lasted from one CT scan or MRI to the next, or from one doctor’s appointment to the other. In the words of Lemony Snicket:

“Strange as it may seem, I still hope for the best, even though the best, like an interesting piece of mail, so rarely arrives, and even when it does it can be lost so easily.” 

With each passing day I saw less and less of those familiar faces and I dared not think or wonder if the rest ever noticed. As to what each and every one was thinking, I never dared go there. None of them knew what was waiting for them. I often asked myself how can they go on living and hoping when all the doors seem to eventually close in on them?

Alexandre Dumas wrote:
 
“There is neither happiness nor misery in the world; there is only the comparison of one state with another, nothing more. All human wisdom is contained in these two words, Wait and Hope.” 

Why do I feel such an emptiness then? Is it because of my late husband’s confidence, his courage, his faith, his optimism? Is it because even during his last hours in his hospital bed he promised us he was coming home and I believed him? Is it because:

“I believe that imagination is stronger than knowledge. That myth is more potent than history. That dreams are more powerful than facts. That hope always triumphs over experience. That laughter is the only cure for grief. And I believe that love is stronger than death.” Robert Fulghum

ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hope Is A Waking Dream

  1. Very touching, beautifully written. I wish all the best for you and your family for the future.

  2. A very emotive piece and one I can relate to all too well. Living in the moment is difficult when our usual life’s chores insist on being attended to, when all we want to do is curl up and forget. I have found the simplicity of a walk can refresh my mind and body and in doing so my spirit lifts – maybe not a lot when I first lost my Father but gradually I began to see, hear & smell the nature around me. It was comfort to my soul and listening to my inner mind I ‘heard’ him whisper. Now I regularly speak to my Father on my walks, knowing he is beside me – if not physically as less spiritually.
    This may seem idiotic or stupid to you but for me, it has eased my pain.
    My thoughts are with you.

    • chichikir says:

      Thank you Mandy. It’s hard to lose a loved one. And in the past year I lost my father, then my friend and then my husband. I still haven’t recovered 😥

  3. combs2jc says:

    If that one statement was the only thing Robert Fulghum wrote it would be enough for me to sing his praises. There is a hide-a-key shaped like a dove that I put at my daughter’s grave, I put messages inside it for her. Nothing earth shattering, no state secrets; just the things I would have liked to have been able to share with her, teach, and show her. The first little scrap of paper had Mr. Fulghum’s statement on it. From time to time that little dove becomes full, and I bring some of those little scraps of paper home and put them in “Alexandra’s box”. But I always leave Mr. Fulghum’s statement, it helped me, and continues to help me to this day. I wish I could add your sorrow to mine and free you from it. My hope for you is that peace, joy, and hope return to your life; one moment at a time.

    • chichikir says:

      Thank you. I can’t even think of how great is your sorrow and yet you have found a way to deal with it. I feel at peace while reading Robert Fulghum. I admire your way of writing messages and those scraps of paper. I thought of writing to my husband too about us, about the kids and their daily routine, but so far I haven’t been able to 😥
      You are in my thoughts and prayers.

  4. Cedric says:

    It’s a beautiful blog.

Leave a Reply

