This Is Not The End


Have you ever experienced a major crisis in your life? After spending days and nights trying to solve the problem you are faced with yet a new one? Just when you think you have come to terms with yourself and are ready to continue your life. How do you deal with it? What do you do?

Albert Einstein wrote:
“The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them.”

What if the problem we face is not something we created but rather was forced on us? We all have problems at some point in our lifetime. The simple act of making a living in itself creates problems for many of us. How do we make a living in today’s economy? How do we make a place for ourselves in today’s society?

When I was growing up in Lebanon, during the civil war days my worries were the same as any other kid or teenager my age elsewhere around the world. I went to school, went out with my friends. I did community work, went to university, met my future husband there, fell in love, got married, left the country and then after more than two decades left again, this time with my kids. It was not until recently when we faced problems in this new city, in this new country which we call home, that I realized how hard it must have been for my parents to do what they did in those days. How hard it must have been for them to continue making a living under awful conditions imposed on them by the civil war and to hide all their hardship from us. For me and my siblings everything seemed normal and life continued as usual.

Winston Churchill wrote:
“Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened.”

My parents and generations of parents at the time picked themselves up and continued as if nothing ever happened. The entire community was affected at the time and war became part of every household in the country.

Thinking back I realize that everyone more or less faced the same problems then. They were in it together. But when I live in a normal society how do I make a place for myself? What do I do? How do I handle situations so that I won’t fail? In the words of Winston Churchill:

“Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts.” 

But where do I get courage from? How can I face the future alone? I ask myself a million questions without getting any answer. I ask:

“You ask, what is our aim? I can answer in one word. It is victory, victory at all costs, victory in spite of all terror, victory, however long and hard the road may be; for without victory, there is no survival.” Winston Churchill

Victory! In my case over myself. I have to find a way to conquer my weaknesses and my failures and get up on my feet and start trying again. Victory over my self doubts. Victory over my depressing thoughts. Because in the words of Winston Churchill:

“Now this is not the end. It is not even the beginning of the end. But it is, perhaps, the end of the beginning.”

Promise

ChK 

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This Is Not The End

  1. Lee says:

    Not sure what the specific problem is, but here is what I did. 1) Pushed back harder 2) Had breakdown 3) Learned to breath again. After that life still kept happenning so now I stop holding it in, get angry, stop pushing, fall into the hopelessness and cut loose. Mostly makes no difference to end result, but sometimes it does and at least it’s a place for me – as you put it. Courage isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. I’ve experienced some situations where courage is an indicator that I’m doing something I shouldn’t be doing. Modern life has distorted it from the glorious courage of Churchill’s days. Or maybe it hasn’t, afterall, in 1915 Churchill was responsible for walking courageous men into 303 rounds point blank not far from where you grew up. He isn’t the source of all wisdom. If all else fails, I take a pill. Nothing illegal, just something to take the edge off. Whatever you do will be right for you. Best of luck.

Leave a Reply

