To New Beginnings


Do you have New Year’s resolutions? Did you make any? Well, for a change I did. Normally I don’t make any resolutions for New Year simply for the fact that I won’t be able to keep them. I know I won’t. That’s what happened in the past and so I stopped making any.

But this year it’s different. I have made one resolution and it involves my fellow writers and blog followers and readers.

I know that 2013 has been a bad year for me. Looking back I don’t know how I managed to get out of bed every morning and face the world. On most days I didn’t know what I was doing. I let the hours, the days, the months slip by unnoticed. But the one thing that I was so certain of was my writing. The one thing that made life bearable was my writing.

Advice

Because of all the support I got from the blogging community and my readers. Because of the heartfelt and encouraging comments they left on my pages. And if I didn’t get to answer those comments for some reason or other I totally and sincerely apologize.

No matter how many mistakes I made in life, I knew I was doing the right thing by writing. No matter how I struggled at times to put words on paper, no matter how hard it was to do so on some days when I was feeling really low, you made me believe in myself as a writer. I knew I had to write.

Mordecai Richler wrote:

“But each day you sit vacant writing nothing but still a prisoner to the typewriter- each day like that is a special kind of hell. Questions come to you making small wounds. Why are you making this book? Does it matter? Do you believe in it? That’s when you get up and have a cigarette and/or a cup of coffee. Then, a short walk. Then another cigarette. You pick up things. Books you can’t concentrate on. Newspapers you can’t understand. So on. Out again. Up to wander around the neighborhood bookshops. So many books! Who-how-why are they written??… Once you go after a truth, you can only get so close… There is no fame big enough or money or bribery enough to compensate for the pain that goes into the making of a novel. (Even the mixed joy of publication is paltry, aspirins for cancer.) So why do I write?… Nearest I can come to it is, ‘I have to.’”

To New Beginnings!

ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

