Wishing You All The Luck In The World


During a conversation on the phone last week somebody told me that my son is lucky and then repeated, “No, no your children are lucky.”

I don’t know what upset me more, the way she said it, her tone of voice, or what she said. Or maybe I wasn’t in a good mood to begin with. I came close to hanging up on her but being me I couldn’t. After I put the receiver down I went and sat in my corner of the house, the corner where I read and write and speculate on matters, on things that bother me the most. I started thinking out loud. What kind of person would tell me that my son is lucky when he lost his dad not too long ago, before even turning 21?

Lajos Egri wrote:

““Shallow men believe in luck,” said Emerson. There is no luck involved in the success of Ibsen’s plays. He studied, he planned, he worked hard.”

Of the writers’ interviews and biographies that I have read, the one thing that they all agree on is hard work and perseverance. They all have the same advice to beginning writers: they tell us to write every day, to work doggedly and persevere. To never give up. To learn by writing and master the craft and one day maybe if our work is good enough it will be noticed by an editor.

Maybe luck has something to do with success, or finding a job, to some extent. Meeting the right kind of people, or being in the right place at the right time. My son is a student and has a part time job. Thank God. Most of us, if not all of us, have been fortunate enough to have been there and done that. Worked and paid our tuition. I bet you we were lucky. But we also worked hard to get there and stay there.

Luck- good fortune, chance, fate, destiny, providence, accident, coincidence.

God knows we all need a bit of luck in our lives. But forgive me if I don’t remember who was it who said, “The harder I work the luckier I get.”

Wishing you all the luck in the world.

Fairy

ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

