Did You Drink Coffee Today?


I think one of the vices that I have is drinking coffee. I try not to overdo it since I am not allowed to exceed three cups a day (doctor’s orders). According to my cardiologist, espresso and Arabic coffee are better and have less caffeine in them than the American (instant) coffee.

I started drinking Arabic coffee when I was still in school and for only one reason. To have someone read my cup. My mom and her group of friends and neighbors used to gather once a week on a certain day for coffee and cakes. When it was my mom’s turn to host the event I used to love hanging around them. I would ask my mom if I could make the coffee and of course she wouldn’t say no.

If you have tried drinking Arabic coffee, it is served in smaller cups. The coffee is boiled for quite some time in a coffeepot over the stove and then poured into small cups with saucers.

Coffee

I would always make some extra for me and drink it with the ladies. Among them were two women who read cups. I was too shy to ask them myself but my mom would. I don’t know what it was about the reading that made it so special at the time.

My late husband was a coffee drinker too. So when we got married we kind of formed this habit. Every morning before going off on our busy separate schedules and after our regular cups of coffee, we had Arabic coffee. And of course as a joke I read my cup and sometimes even his. That became a ritual that we continued even in Montreal.

We had our last one together on the morning of the 15th of November 2012. Unfortunately it all ended on the 16th. That morning when I drove the kids to the hospital, we found him sitting on his bed and as we entered his room the first thing he asked my daughter was, “Did you have coffee with your mother this morning?”

Simone de Beauvoir wrote:

“It is in the knowledge of the genuine conditions of our lives that we must draw strength to live and our reason for living.”

ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

