“It Was A Big Mistake”


On this cold Monday morning, I find it hard to concentrate on writing something that will be impersonal and less subjective. The reason is that we didn’t have a calm weekend, and Sunday was especially turbulent. We had a full day of loud music and banging and shouting from the woman downstairs that continued well through the night. To top it all she rang our doorbell multiple times late at night just to annoy us because we ignored all that was going on around us. 

We went out a couple of times during the day and evening just to get away from all that noise. And when at home we kept to our business. But I guess all that noise was a bit too much for my nerves. So here I am trying to think of something to write when all I can do is remember how awful yesterday was. So to put things right and start my week on a positive note here are some inspirational quotes or comments from successful writers that I was reading early in the morning that I would like to share with you.

“A writer has got to be a cynic. You’ve got to look at life clearly. No rose-colored glasses. The human race is not very admirable. It was a big mistake of God’s. …I think I appeal to readers because there’s nothing false or hypocritical in what I write. And they recognize themselves, they recognize their fears. And they know what bastards they are.” Taylor Caldwell

“If you write a hundred short stories and they’re all bad, that doesn’t mean you’ve failed. You fail only if you stop writing. I’ve written about 2,000 short stories; I’ve only published about 300 and I feel I’m still learning. Any man who keeps working is not a failure. He may not be a great writer, but if he applies the old-fashioned virtues of hard, constant labor, he’ll eventually make some kind of career for himself as a writer.” Ray Bradbury

“I have been successful probably because I have always realized that I knew nothing about writing and have merely tried to tell interesting story entertainingly. But there is another reason: From the beginning I have adhered to a policy of ordinary business honesty that was installed in me by my father. My first stories were the best stories that I could write, and every story that I have written since has been the very best story that I could write. I have felt that it was a duty to those people who bought my books that I should give them the very best within me. I have no illusions as to the literary value of what I did give them, but I have the satisfaction of knowing that I gave them the best that my ability permitted.” Edgar Rice Burroughs

“Every person you meet- and everything you do in life- is an opportunity to learn something. That’s important to all of us, but most of all to a writer because as a writer you can use anything. There is not a person in the world who does not love to talk about himself and his job; who does not deem himself fascinating; who cannot tell you hours’ worth of stories about the exciting life of an insurance agent, real-estate broker, garbage collector or preschool teacher. And they are all right. All people are interesting, and this is particularly true if you are writing a story about insurance, real estate, trash or day-care center. From those people you will get information, and from their information you get verisimilitude, and verisimilitude is what makes fiction work. I never even got aboard a nuclear sub until The Hunt for Red October was in final editing. On the other hand, I have talked with a lot of people who are or were in this line of work.” Tom Clancy

“It is not enough merely to love literature, if one wishes to spend one’s life as a writer. It is a dangerous undertaking on the most primitive level. For, it seems to me, the act of writing with serious intent involves enormous personal risk. It entails the ongoing courage for self-discovery. It means one will walk forever on the tightrope, with each new step presenting the possibility of learning a truth about oneself that is too terrible to bear.” Harlan Ellison

UniqueStyle

Have a great week finding your way!

ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

