Keep Making Magic


In November 1929 Thornton Wilder said:

“Life is made up of such a conglomerate concoction of everything that nothing really good or nothing really bad comes the way of most of us. Consequently, it is up to the average person (the author) to make for himself a life out of life.”

On this thanksgiving day I would like to express my gratitude for all the things, the good and the bad, that life has thrown in my way. I am grateful for my kids for they are the lights of my life. I am grateful for my family, my mom, my brothers and their families, my aunts Mary and Lucy and uncles who although miles away have endlessly showered me with their love and support throughout my years and especially during my hardest times when I lost my husband.

I am also grateful for all the writers and bloggers who have enriched my life with their stories and writings and enabled me to make for myself my own world and my own life out of life. James Michener once said:

“For me the criterion for a good novel is that the author has created a total world in which his people move credibly. And the books that do this I prize. The Idiot, for example, and Thackeray’s Vanity Fair, Twain’s Huck Finn, which I like very much; these are fine examples. The novel is just a little cosmos and we’re prepared to accept it, it’s just a real world. This is a great accomplishment. I’m not good at writing the well-rounded English novel. I don’t care about that. I get around it by spending so much time creating that world that I get thousands of letters from people who say how totally immersed they were in the world and how sorry they were to have it end. That works for me.”

That works for me too and so does the magic. The magic all those poets and writers and story tellers bring into my life through their words. To quote John Steinbeck:

“If there is magic in story writing, and I am convinced that there is, no one has ever been able to reduce it to a recipe that can be passed from one person to the another. The formula seems to lie solely in the aching urge of the writer to convey something he feels important to the reader. If the writer has that urge, he may sometimes, but by no means always, find the way to do it. You must perceive the excellence that makes a good story good or the errors that make a bad story. For a bad story is only an ineffective story.”

Shehrazade

May you keep enriching our lives with your magic.

ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Keep Making Magic

  1. susanrouchard says:

    That works for me too and so does the magic. The magic all those poets and writers and story tellers bring into my life through their words.

    Thank you for this. Hoping the weather is still fair in Montreal.
    all the best
    Susan.

    http://writingsusanb-rouch.blogspot.fr/

Leave a Reply

