Life Is Unfair


“Life is unfair.”

I’ve heard that phrase a million times from my kids, I’ve repeated it a million times myself. Not only is life not fair but it also is tragic. There’s only struggle. Sometimes people get lucky, lazy people get lucky while very bad things happen to the nicest of people.

We are honest in what we do, we work hard and yet when we do not get the reward, or the other guy gets the reward that should have been ours, we are hurt and disappointed. Sometimes we are hurt and disappointed by our families and friends. Sometimes we hurt and disappoint them too.

We lose interest in what we do and just continue with our duties without much ado and with a broken heart. We get angry and frustrated with our life.

Winston S. Churchill writes:

“Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts.” 

I spent the last two years being sad and angry at my life, at people, at the world around me. I spent most days crying and feeling sorry for myself. Until one day reality hit me. I realized that I and I alone am responsible for my life. I realized that even though I may not be able to prevent the worst from happening, I am responsible for my attitude toward my “bad luck”. To quote Walter Anderson:

“Bad things do happen; how I respond to them defines my character and the quality of my life. I can choose to sit in perpetual sadness, immobilized by the gravity of my loss, or I can choose to rise from the pain and treasure the most precious gift I have- life itself.”

Style6

I realized also that no matter what happens to us we always have enough courage within us to continue, only if we believe in ourselves. Only if we are committed. Then not only can we change our attitude but our life as well.

“Life is mostly froth and bubble,
Two things stand like stone.
Kindness in another’s trouble,
Courage in your own.”  Adam Lindsay Gordon

ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

