Until You Learn How To Do It!


“How do you become a writer?” 
“You write.”

Many a time we are told by our writing coaches, professors and other more experienced writers to write from the imagination, to write from inside, to write what we know. For our stories to be real and believable we have to add our personal touch to them. Our unique experiences.

Experience is not something we go and get. For me personally every event, every emotion, everyone I have met, every person I have loved or lost has left a mark on my life. Because of it all I am who I am today and a better person than when I started my life journey. Every experience that I have had so far has been a gift, a gift that I have received because I have been open to accept whatever has come along in my life.

“Write from within” is also another phrase that I have heard more experienced writers give to us, the less experienced or the beginners.
 
I am sure you have all read Jane Eyre or Wuthering Heights. Perhaps like many of us, even studied these two great classics in high school English classes. What did the Brontë sisters know about life? Other than the vicarage they lived in and the few people they met, and the school they attended. But they all started writing at a very early age.

They wrote every day. They wrote about what they knew, the vicarage, the landscape, the moors. They wrote about their feelings, their emotions, they wrote from deep inside. 

“Artists are people who are not at all interested in the facts- only in the truth. You get the facts from outside. The truth you get from inside.” Ursula K. Le Guin 

So if you are a writer how do you tell the truth?
 
“You sit down, and you do it, and you do it, and you do it, until you have learned how to do it.” Ursula K. Le Guin 

Author

ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Until You Learn How To Do It!

  1. ptlperrin says:

    Exactly! You’ve said it so well! We are who we are because of the people we’ve encountered and our experiences. Nothing and no one is wasted — even the ones we wish we could undo. I’ve written a non-fiction compilation of life experiences as God reminded me of them. Some are funny, some serious, some thought-provoking and some inspirational. I greatly admire the writers who can and do create fantasy worlds and wonderful fictional stories. You’ve reminded me that those worlds also come from within. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

