Facebook Rant!


Have you ever stopped what you were doing for a moment and looked around you and realized that perhaps you have it all? We as human beings are so ambitious, so greedy for wealth, emotion, power, that most of the time we don’t realize that we are lucky to be alive. We want more. There is nothing wrong with that except we are so busy working, going after our dreams, that we miss the other things, the simple things that gave us so much joy at one time in our lives.

We have more than what our parents had, our generation has achieved more than theirs in terms of science, technology, medicine (to name a few), and yet the killings of innocent people and atrocities and genocides are still part of our daily routine. 

I have long stopped my involvement in politics. I mean, what goes on around the world still interests me but I have stopped blogging about what upsets me every time. The killing of innocent civilians, no matter what religion or nationality, no matter where around the world… For me no reason is big enough or good enough to justify that.
 
I spend sleepless nights thinking about all the atrocities committed by humans against humans. Especially this month which marks the 100th anniversary of the Armenian Genocide. I can’t stop thinking about how even 100 years after what happened to us, after how the world allowed it to happen, there were so many other genocides, with the rest of world still watching. And that for me is the biggest issue now.
 
We have created a world for ourselves based on deception, especially on Facebook. We have friends from all over the world, friends whose voices we haven’t heard, whose faces we haven’t seen, other than through the only pictures they want to show us. 

bloggers-1

We use social media to express our beliefs and ideas. And yet I can’t get myself to post anything about these incidents and issues because I find them extremely painful. And if you are one of those friends who keeps posting about only your issues and expecting me to applaud you while you keep ignoring the rest of the world, then sorry I won’t and I can’t be present on your page.

For me every innocent life that is lost is a cause for concern. Every human being has the right to be here in the same way we do. Just don’t send me accusatory or hurtful messages about my page or how I use it. 

Paulo Coelho writes:

“We can never judge the lives of others, because each person knows only their own pain and renunciation. It’s one thing to feel that you are on the right path, but it’s another to think that yours is the only path.”

ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

