Everyone Has Two Memories


Julia Cameron claims that writing is therapeutic but not therapy. 

Therapy: Treatment, rehabilitation, healing, remedy, cure…
Therapeutic: Healing, beneficial, curative, remedial.

She also writes: “From my perspective, healing is essentially a creative process: we create a new state of health.”

I believe it’s true. For the past few years I have been using writing to heal. And I have to admit I have come a long way since that horrifying day on November 12, 2012. Other than the creative writing I do for my blog, for the other writing projects that I have in mind and want to start one day (hopefully soon), I write every day. I don’t read what I write, I just write whatever comes to mind at that time.

The Writer

William Styron wrote: 

“I’ve read a lot about the creative process. It’s a mysterious phenomenon. I don’t know what makes it work or what makes it malfunction…. But I submit to you that there is something utterly mysterious about the unconscious. I suppose a lot of it is the desire to flog yourself to the point where the words you put down are as close to the truth as can be.” 

I write mostly about my wounds and my pains. In my writings I question my purpose in life. I write about what bothers me. I don’t read what I wrote. I have notebooks filled with my feelings, my disappointments, my heartaches, my dreams and my hopes, and I have never reread any of them. For me the important thing is to pour my heart out on the page. I know that the page won’t disappoint me, it won’t even give my secrets out. So it’s the safest medium whereby I can explore my inner being, my deepest feelings.
 
“Everyone has two memories: The one you can tell and the one that is stuck to the underside of that, the dark, tarry smear of what happened.” Amy Bloom

ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

