Someday When I Have The Time


Rereading one of my books on writing and time management the other day, I came across the following checklist:

– You never seem to find the time to start writing that project you’ve been dreaming about.
– You hear yourself saying, “I don’t know where the time goes.”
– You spend most of your time responding to external pressures instead of to your inner vision.
– Your whole life seems to have been “one big interruption.”
– You’ve been planning to “get started” all your life.
– You keep attending creative writing classes and do no writing on your own. 

And the list goes on. I checked true on all the points listed above, even the last one. Though I don’t attend creative classes anymore, I do find myself rereading almost all of my books on writing over and over again instead of actually writing. 

Kenneth Atchity writes:

“Talent and discipline combined together with time can make your dreams come true.” 

Talent: the abilities, power, and gifts a person is born with; a special often creative or artistic aptitude.

Discipline: control guided by obedience or training, orderly conduct.

Time: the measured or measurable period during which an action, process, or condition exists or continues: duration.
(Britannica Webster Dictionary) 

Sometimes when I hear myself say, “Someday when I have the time, I will finish the project I started decades ago,” I quickly realize my mistake and think, “No one will give me the time. If I want something so badly I will have to make the time for it.” 

It’s getting worse, this time thing. I can’t seem to be able to manage my time like I used to. I lack control. I lack discipline. What I do now on most days is procrastinate and keep postponing my projects, only to realize that life itself has a deadline, the most arbitrary deadline of all. 

Clock

John Grisham wrote:

“I had no time to write – zero time. But I figured I could make time if I could carve out little segments. I knew it would be a slow process, but I didn’t care because I was in no hurry. I learned two very valuable lessons in doing that. One, you can’t get in a hurry. Two, write every day if you want to see your novel completed. My goal was to write a page a day. Some days I could only find thirty minutes, some days two hours. Sometimes I would write five or six pages, sometimes just one. But writing every single day is of utmost importance. Especially if like most beginning writers, you have another full time job.”

Have a great week!
 
ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

