When Did You Last Hear?


When did you last hear someone say to you, “I believe in you”?

It’s a cold morning in Montreal. Sitting at my desk, I look at the snow outside. Soon I should start writing, but I don’t. Instead I keep thinking and wondering. I am at a very low point in my career now, my self esteem is at an all time low. And I keep questioning, how did I get to this point? Why didn’t I get back to teaching while it wasn’t too late? Why did I let myself into this? 

I look back and I see his picture in its white frame on my desk. I look at his face. I long to hear his voice. I long to hear him say, “You can do this, I believe you will do this, I believe in you.”

“I believe in you.” 

It’s been a long time since I last heard those words from him. Three years, three months and thirteen days, to be exact, since the day he left us and this world. 

Rebecca Maddox writes:

“To succeed beyond our widest imagination, I am convinced that each one of us must find someone who will be our “I believe in you” person. This is a must. I don’t care if you’re a business owner, an executive, an employee, a mom, a student, or a person in transition from one role to another: if you do nothing else in preparing for whatever change lies ahead, find this person, no matter what it takes or how long it takes. It’s that important.”

I realize now how important it was for me to hear him say “I believe in you.” He was always there to listen to me blabber about my dreams, about everything and everyone, to help me out in dealing with my problems. I trusted him unreservedly and completely. When he spoke it was always from his heart and his head. He was my number one critic and my number one fan when it came to my writing.

He was my “I believe in you” person, or as Julia Cameron later referred to it, my “Believing Mirror.” To use her words: 

“A believing mirror is a carefully chosen individual who helps a project’s growth by believing in it in embryonic stages. Another way to think of a believing mirror is the old expression “secret sharer.” Most of us need to talk to someone, sometime, about our creative aspirations. The right person to talk to is a believing mirror.” 

I not only trusted him with my dreams but also with my life. I miss my talks with him. I miss hearing his voice. I miss him terribly. Without him in my life I am lost sometimes. And at those times I feel utterly lonely. 

When did you last hear someone say to you, “I believe in you”?

BELIEVE

ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When Did You Last Hear?

  1. Lili says:

    I hope you can still hear him say it to you in your heart, so that you will continue to have the strength to believe in yourself 🙂

Leave a Reply

