All This Madness!


My heart is sad today. So many innocent people dead this week in Brussels. What is happening to us, to the world? And why? All those killings, all those innocent lives lost, all those crimes committed against humanity by humans. It’s so bad, it’s like “feeling sick in the stomach” bad.

Why all this madness? Why now? I often ask myself these questions, although I don’t know the answers. I don’t think anyone knows.
 
We human beings are defined by our past. Our identity as humans and as nations lies in our past. I ask myself, is it because over the centuries the mass murders and the genocides that were committed against people and against nations went unpunished? Is that why we are in this mess today? Is it because the oppressors got away with their crimes that these atrocities are still continuing against innocent civilians?

Eckhart Tolle writes:

“How is it possible that humans killed in excess of one hundred million fellow humans in the twentieth century alone? Humans inflicting pain of such magnitude on one another is beyond anything you can imagine. And that’s not taking into account the mental, emotional and physical violence, the torture, the pain, and cruelty they continue to inflict on each other as well as on other sentient beings on a daily basis.

Do they act in this way because they are in touch with their natural state, the joy of life within? Of course not. Only people who are in a deeply negative state, who feel very bad indeed, would create such a reality as a reflection of how they feel. Now they are engaged in destroying nature and the planet that sustains them. Unbelievable but true. Humans are a dangerously insane and very sick species. That’s not a judgment. It’s a fact.” 

I remember decades ago when cars often exploded in busy and crowded residential areas of Beirut. I used to walk in the middle of the street, avoiding the parked cars on the sides. They represented a big threat to me, as I thought that any of them could be loaded with bombs that would detonate at any minute. I used to be so scared sometimes.

When I think back I realize how foolish I was to think that I could be safer walking in the middle of the road, avoiding the pavements. How could I think I could be safer from such explosions? But man is hopeful. We always live and dream of a future that will make us happier or richer or safer. When truths are twisted to suit the needs and demands of certain people or nations, annihilations take on a different meaning and the world becomes an uglier place. 

Elie Wiesel writes:

“What did he want to learn here? That human beings are frail? That their truths change? That there is one truth for the judges, another for the judged? That doubt is as necessary to faith as air is to fire? That there is only a fine line between innocence and guilt? Madness frightens me, but not as much as those who push them into madness.” 

What’s going on in different parts of the world right now is pure madness. I pray for all those innocent lives lost in Brussels and elsewhere in the world. I join my voice to Elie Wiesel’s and say, we fear madness but not as much as those who push them into it.

Rose

ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

