An Ice Cream Cone So Big


Another year is coming to an end. I don’t know about you, but usually around this time of the year I get mixed feelings. It’s always sad to say goodbye, but at the same time there is this anticipation, the excitement of being on the threshold of something new, something promising.

I wonder sometimes if what drives us, what makes us tick, what makes us get out of bed every morning and face the world, is nothing other than fear and hope. The fear of tomorrow, the unknown, just the simple thought of it not being as good as today, or the hope that it will even be better.
 
I have a horoscope app on my phone that I like to check on a daily basis. It also has a yearly zodiac section, and for my career for this passing year here’s what it said:“Of all the important areas of your life, your career will be enjoying the most significant changes and excitement. By the end of 2016, you could receive an amazingly huge opportunity- one that is bigger and more thrilling than anything you have experienced before. If you maintain your typical dedication and ambition, this is something that could put you over the top in terms of financial success. Overall, 2016 could be your best year in many years- by leaps and bounds.”

Sadly the only thing that I got towards the end of this year relating to my career as a writer was an email from an agent, a rejection letter addressed to a Mr. Hanssian. (Which proves my point that agents do not read queries sent to them, and if you have an unrecognizable foreign name like mine, God help you.)

With only three days left for the New Year, could that something big still happen to me? Could such an amazing opportunity still come my way?

2016 was a tough year for me and my kids. I had to face a big challenge quite a few times throughout the year but thank God all went well. 

Everything in this life comes to an end. We all know that. What we don’t know is when. Even in my happiest moments I cannot help but think that this is all temporary. Some things I want to hang on to for as long as I can, for as much as it is possible for me to do so. But nothing lasts forever.

This New Year I will try to change my attitude. Instead of having resolutions I have decided to jot down my dreams, my aspirations, and longings that I have kept tucked away for when the time is right. There is no right time. Past experience has taught me that there is no perfect time to go after what you want. That you can’t wait for it to come your way, because your time to leave this life might come sooner than you expect.

I have come to realize the hard way that you have to grab every second, every minute, every hour, every day you are given on this earth to move towards your dream and make it come true.

Life is full of surprises, good and bad. But even in our bad times, there are moments in each of our lives when we feel a certain calm. For me it’s the times when I am having coffee with a friend and talking and listening, or when I am with my kids watching a movie and eating popcorn, or getting some ice cream. Blissful moments that I know once over will never come back again. To quote Ray Bradbury:

“Ice cream cones are always gettin’ done with. Seems I’m no sooner bitin’ the top than I’m eatin’ the tail. Seems I’m no sooner jumpin’ in the lake at the start of vacation then I’m creepin’ out the far side, on the way back to school. Boy no wonder I feel bad.”
“It’s all how you look at it,” said Doug.
“My Gosh, think of all the things you haven’t even started yet. There’s a million ice cream cones up ahead and ten billion apple pies and hundreds of summer vacations. Billions of things waitin’ to be bit or swallowed or jumped in.”
“Just once, though,” said Tom, “I’d like one thing. An ice cream cone so big you could just keep eatin’ and there isn’t any end and you just go on bein’ happy with it forever. Wow!”

Wish

“There’s no such ice cream cone.”
“Just one thing like that is all I ask,” said Tom. “One vacation that never has a last day… Gimme just one thing with no tail-end and I’d go crazy. Sometimes I just sit at the theater and cry when it says ‘The End’… And there’s nothin’ so sad as the last piece of popcorn at the bottom of the box.” 

Wishing you all a happy and successful New Year. May all your dreams come true.

ChK

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

